Tripura :CPM withdraws from Charilam election

March 12, 2018, 2:32 am
Agartala (Tripura), March 10 : The CPM in Tripura  withdrew from the election to Charilam assembly seat, citing "post-poll violence" in the constituency.
Polling to the Charilam seat was postponed following the death of CPM candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma, a week before the February 18 elections in the state.
The party had later fielded Palash Debbarma from the seat.

Day After Assuming Office, Tripura Chief Minister Allocates Portfolios

March 11, 2018, 2:13 am
Agartala (Tripura), Mar 10 :  Biplab Kumar Deb, who assumed the office of Tripura chief minister yesterday, allocated portfolios to all the nine ministers sworn-in, including himself, today.
Chief Secretary Sanjeev Ranjan, in a notification, said Mr Deb would be in charge of seven departments - home, PWD, industries and commerce, urban development, general administration, labour, information and cultural affairs - apart from being responsible for all the policies and any other department not allocated to any minister.

Biplab Kumar Deb sworn-in as first BJP Chief Minister of Tripura

March 9, 2018, 1:17 pm
Agartala (Tripura) , Mar 9 : North-eastern state of Tripura got  a new government today with BJP's Biplab Kumar Deb being sworn-in as the chief minister.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah and other senior party leaders were  in attendance at the Assam Rifles Ground in Agartala for the formation of a BJP-led government in the state.

After Tripura Rout, Debate Within CPM On Alliances Could Become Shriller

March 7, 2018, 3:31 pm
New Delhi , Mar  7 :  An internal debate in the CPI(M) on the political line the party has to follow has become even more shrill after its crushing defeat in Tripura, with the camp supporting general secretary Sitaram Yechury blaming the former party boss Prakash Karat for not adapting to changing scenarios in the country.
The incumbent Left government, in power in the state for 25 years, was routed by the BJP that earlier had less than a 2 per cent vote share in Tripura.

Tripura: Alleged BJP workers vandalise Lenin statue

March 6, 2018, 4:48 pm
Agartala (Tripura) , Mar 6 :  The CPI(M) called the act ‘communism phobia’ while the saffron party said the incident showed there was an ‘overflow of anger’.
The statue of communist icon Vladimir Ilyich Ulyanov, or Lenin, was brought down on Monday allegedly by Bharatiya Janata Party workers celebrating their party’s victory in the Tripura Assembly elections. They used a bulldozer to demolish the statue in Belonia town near Agartala and are believed to have shouted “Bharat Mata ki jai” while razing it, The Indian Express reported.

Biplab Deb new Tripura CM, Debbarma Deputy CM

March 6, 2018, 2:34 pm
Agartala (Tripura) , Mar 6: Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Biplab Kumar Deb will be the new Chief Minister of Tripura and the partys tribal leader Jishnu Debbarma will be the Deputy Chief Minister, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari announced here on Tuesday.
The newly-elected MLAs of the BJP met here on Tuesday in the presence of central observers and elected Deb as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party.

BJP demolishes Left citadel in Tripura, certain to be part of govt in Nagaland

March 4, 2018, 4:00 pm
Agartala/Kohima/Shillong, Mar 4 : Riding the crest of a Modi wave, the BJP  demolished the communist citadel of Tripura, winning a two-third majority with ally IPFT and ending 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front.
The saffron party, which did not have even a single councillor in all of Tripura, had secured less than two per cent votes in the 2013 polls.

Tripura : BJP to decide on CM today evening

March 3, 2018, 6:02 pm
New Delhi , Mar 03: The BJP Parliamentary Board will meet this evening to decide on the future Chief Minister of Tripura, where the party is likely to form a government, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav said today.
"Our Parliamentary Board (the party's highest decision making body) will meet in the evening and take a call," he said at a press conference when asked who will be the BJP chief minister in Tripura.

Tripura: EC orders repolling in six booths , CPI(M) fumes

February 23, 2018, 11:27 pm
By : Pradip Chakraborty
Agartala(Tripura), Feb 23 : The Election Commission (EC) today ordered repolling in six booths in as many Assembly constituencies of Tripura, drawing sharp criticism from the ruling CPI(M), which accused the state election department of failing to conduct a proper election and criminal negligence.

Moderate polling in Tripura Assembly elections

February 18, 2018, 11:15 pm
By : Pradip Chakraborty
Agartala (Tripura) , Feb 18 :Voters queued up in large numbers outside polling booths in Tripura from early morning on Sunday as the single-phased Assembly elections progressed peacefully, officials said.
An election department official said that snags in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) attached with VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) in over 150 polling stations, resulted in slow balloting across the state.


Subscribe to RSS - Tripura