Nagaland : Liezietsu expresses apprehension

March 11, 2018, 1:30 am
By:Pradeep Pareek
Dimapur(Nagaland) Mar 10:  Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu today expressed apprehensions that the strong fabric of Naga Society is being destroyed by tribalism, and urged the Tenyimia people to find the roots of evolution and work towards preserving the values of unity and integrity of the Naga people.
Urging upon Nagas to develop a sense of respect for the elders which he said is the foundation of a good thriving society.

Budget session of Nagaland Assembly

March 11, 2018, 1:12 am
By :Pradeep Pareek
Dimapur(Nagaland), March 10: The first session of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly which will begin from March 13 to 26 will see the Presentation of Budget for the year 2018-2019 on March 23.
Nagaland Governor has summoned the First Session of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly to meet at 9:30 am on Tuesday, the 13th March, 2018 at the Assembly Hall, Kohima, informed Commissioner & Secretary, NLA, Benjamin Newmai in a communiqué today.

Nagaland Governor administers oath to protem speaker

March 9, 2018, 10:06 pm
By :Pradeep Pareek
Dimapur(Nagaland) March 9: Governor PB Acharya today administered the oath of office and secrecy to newly elected BJP MLA Mmhonlumo Kikon as pro tem Speaker for the 13thNagaland Legislative Assembly after approving his nomination.
Kikon will run the activities of the newly elected house until the house elects a speaker. The first day of the budget session on March 13, will see oath-taking and election of a new speaker.

Rio cabinet decides to re-name IG Stadium to T Ao stadium

March 8, 2018, 11:38 pm
By : Pradeep Pareek
Dimapur(Nagaland), March 8: What is in a name? A lot to push a political ideology believes Nagaland’s newly elected government as it has decided to change the name of a stadium in the state capital, Kohima.
The iconic stadium named after the former prime minister and Congress leader Indira Gandhi will be re-christened as T Ao Stadium, the state cabinet decided today in its maiden meeting held immediately after the swearing ceremony held at Kohima local ground.   

Neiphiu Rio sworn in as Nagaland chief minister

March 8, 2018, 2:37 pm
Kohima (Nagaland) , Mar 8 : Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was on Thursday sworn in as the chief minister of Nagaland, reported news agency ANI.
The attendees at the oath-taking ceremony in Kohima included defence minister Niramala Sitharaman, minister of state (home) Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah, BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav, Manipur CM N Biren Singh, Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu, Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma.

Neiphiu Rio to be new Nagaland CM, swearing-in today

March 8, 2018, 11:37 am
Kohima (Nagaland), Mar 8 : In a first, the new Nagaland government headed by NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio will take oath at a public function at the Kohima Local Ground today.
The venue holds significance as the announcement of Nagaland’s statehood on December 1, 1963 was made from here by the then president Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.
The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), in alliance with the BJP, will take over the reins of the north-eastern state with the support of 32 MLAs.

Nagaland : BJP says Neiphiu Rio will be the next CM

March 6, 2018, 3:01 pm
New Delhi /Kohima , Mar 6: The BJP on Tuesday indicated its resolve to form the government in Nagaland by writing a letter to the governor backing ally NDPP's Neiphiu Rio as the next chief minister .
"BJP submitted letter of support from 12 MLAs to Governor supporting NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio as chief ministerial candidate of Nagaland," Union Minister J P Nadda told reporters.

Nagaland CM Zeliang Refuses to Quit, Says Will Convince Amit Shah on Alliance

March 6, 2018, 2:32 am
Kohima (Nagaland), Mar 6 : Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang has refused to resign and said he would meet with BJP president Amit Shah in New Delhi to form a “more stable” government in the state. 
Zeliang heads the Naga People's Front (NPF) that won 29 seats together with its allies in the Assembly election on Saturday, two short of the majority mark.

BJP, allies meet Nagaland Governor PB Acharya, stake claim to form government

March 4, 2018, 10:50 pm
By : Pradeep Pareek
Kohima (Nagaland ), March 4: The Bharatiya Janata Party and its ally the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party on Sunday met Nagaland Governor PB Acharya to stake claim to form the government, a day after the Nagaland Assembly Election results showed the pre-poll alliance winning more seats than the incumbent Naga People’s Front (NPF) led by TR Zeliang

Nagaland assembly remains a all male this time too

March 4, 2018, 10:14 pm
By : Pradeep Pareek
Dimapur(Nagaland), March 4 : This time too no woman from Nagaland contesting the February 27 has made it to the State Assembly which had been all-male since 1963 when it attained statehood.
Till date, Nagaland has had only one woman lawmaker – Rano M shaiza, who was the Lok Sabha MP from the state in 1977. 
Five out of the 195 candidates contesting for a seat in the 60-member Assembly were women.


Subscribe to RSS - Nagaland