Assam : BPF announces names of 15 candidates for BTC elections

SAV Image

From Our Kokrajhar Bureau

Kokrajhar (Assam),Feb 17: The ruling Bodoland People’s Front(BPF) has announced names of 15 candidates including a female candidate for the upcoming BTC election scheduled in April next.However, the party has dropped the name sitting BTC executive member Alindra Mushahary from the list of the announced candidates .Mushahary is the sitting executive member from the Rowta constituency of Udalguri district.

All the candidates who names were announced are existing BTC executive members including the speaker and deputy speaker of the BTC legislative assembly . The new face is Munmun Brahma from Parbatjhora whose name has been included in the list .

The announcement came after a central executive meeting of the BPF held at Bathow complex here today which was chaired by president of the party Hagrama Mohilary .

Mohilary announced the list which includes him (Hagrama Mohilary) from Debargaon constituency. Kampa Borgoyary(Chirang Duar),Rajib Brahma(Banargaon),Doneswar Goyary(Baukhungri),Mrityunjay Narzary(Saraibil),Lwmsrao Daimary(Kwirabari),Bijit Gwra Narzary(Darangamela),Ansumwi Khunggur Boro(Mushalpur),Jagadish Sarkar(Mudwibari),Shyam Sundi( Pasnoi Serfang),Tridip Daimary(Harisinha),Nerswn Boro(Bhergaon),Bonjar Daimary(Khaling Duar),Maheswar Basumatary(Goreswar) and Munmun Brahma(Parbatjhora).

He informed that the candidates for the remaining constituencies would be announced within a few days and party is doing the necessary assessment for the finalisation of the remaining candidates.

Mohilary has claimed that his party would get the majority by winning at least 35 seats in the upcoming council elections for the fourth consecutive term.

“BPF will have an alliance with BJP,AGP in the council elections. The party will come in power for the fourth consecutive term as people are unitedly supporting the BPF party more so after signing of the Bodo Accord “, Mohilary said.

He said as per the BTR accord it would ensure peace among all sections of the communities in the region.

BTC executive member and BPF candidate for Khaling Duar Bonjar Daimary expressed his happiness after being nominated to contest the upcoming council elections from the BPF party and was hopeful that his party would be winning majority of the seats.

Sitting BTC executive members,Rajib Brahma(Banargaon candidate), Doneswar Goyary(Baukhungri) and Ansumwi Khungur Boro(Mushalpur) have welcome the candidate’s names announced and said that party is winning the upcoming council elections with a majority.

They said that BPF was fully prepared for the council’s elections and accordingly released the first list of the candidates for the council elections.

Notably,BPF has been ruling the council since 2005 till date.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here